You don’t Need a Weatherman to Tell Which Way the Wind Blows

The weather is the current vogue topic of discussion at Everest Base Camp. Down here, mornings are sunny and warm. I even get woken up by the little birds who come here for the left over food. In the afternoon it generally snows, although rarely more than an inch or two.

At the summit it is a different story. The winds have been generally blowing too strongly for the Sherpa teams to fix the rope to the  on the south side; a prerequisite for teams to plan their summit day. The forecasts have been unrealible with this weather pattern, so it is become a bit of a crap shoot, and time is running a little short. Brace yourself for some ‘traffic jam’ photos of climbers on summit day!

As a result, almost all of the teams are back in Base Camp. The latest guess is 20%+ of climbers are already permanently gone, due to illness or other reasons. Flu is apparently rife, so I have self-quarentined myself in camp. Many others have taken the (expensive) helicopter ride down the valley to recouperate and to avoid illness – we shall see how that works out. Some have gone down to Kathmandu, and I heard several on one team went back to Beijing to recouperate! Not sure that’s where I would go, given the choice.

On the plus side, one of the really great guys here just returned from the main village in the Khumbu, Namche Bazar, with donuts!! I’ve never had fresh donuts delivered by helicopter before! Legendary.

He brought Donuts!


As for my plans, they are weather dependent and uncertain. Most likely I will remain in base camp until it is time to go for the summit. But perhaps I shall head up earlier for one final mini-rotation to keep things sharp. There are advantages and disadvantages to both, and only the weather will determine the best.

James

2 comments

  1. Chocolata · May 15

    Just think of all the donuts they missed! More for you. Me thinks you did the right thing staying at base camp. It has been a pleasure to read your blog and keep up with everything as it happens. I feel like I am there with you!
    Hope the weather clears soon and you have a good book to read whilst waiting. You are definitely not missing anything on our side of the world. Well, Mother’s Day, but I know your Mum must be very proud of your attempt to climb Everest.
    It’s hot and dry here in Florida and we are praying for rain. Lived in Alaska for 8 years so I know something about that biting cold!
    Looking forward to that photo on the top James! My family tells me they will photo shop me in next to you when you get up there. I’m telling them all about your great adventure! I’d ask you to shout my name from the top of the world, but you’ll need to save that breath! I’ll settle for the picture.
    May luck be your lady!
    Stay strong, healthy and happy!
    Til the next post…
    Cheers,
    Lisa

    Like

    • jamesrbrooman · May 15

      Thanks for such a nice post! As for my mum she is very proud I think, but I feel bad putting here through all this stress worrying about me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

