Wait, Wait… Go!

One of the main frustrations of Everest Base Camp is having to hang out between (or before) a rotation. Your body is working hard to adapt to the new altitude while you are lazing around, but it sure doesn’t feel like it. For us A-type personalities it is hard to do nothing, and it can be pretty boring – and quite frustrating to be honest. We all want to just get up there and get ‘ahead’ of things, and even paradise gets old (notwithstanding a  beautiful coating of new snow).

Pretty!


Just as I was reaching the threshold of genuine boredom – I get the go-ahead! Tomorrow at 3am I am heading up the icefall on my first proper rotation, first to Camp 1 at 6,050m for probably 3 nights, and then to Camp 2 at 6,400m for a similar amount of time if things go well – we’ll see how my body adapts and how hard I can push without overdoing it. It is a little bit of a step into the unknown, but I’m excited. For now I just can’t wait to get up there! 
See you in a week, with luck and a following wind!

James

4 comments

  1. Jean · April 15

    I have been reading alot about Everest and the balance between pushing the limits of yourself without pushing your body too fast. Pace yourself. Enjoy the moment.
    I will never do what your doing, but love that your doing it and love reading about your ultimate adventure!
    Thank you for sharing! God bless you on your climb!
    Jean

    Like

  2. zoeasherlock · April 15

    🍀

    Like

  3. MonaDenver · April 17

    I’ll be so interested to hear about this adventure, starting your way up (rotation style), the acclimitization, the ladders the icefall the weather, how your body is feeling, how you do with sleeping.

    Like

Leave a Reply

