T=0: Let the Games Begin!

That’s it! I’ve packed, said my goodbyes and am about to board the flight to Kathmandu. It seems to have come around so quickly, and now it begins.

Packing was actually OK this time. More stuff and the same weight as last time, which has me slightly worried! 44Kg (~100lb) in total. But it checks out on the list of things to bring though so I’m not concerned. Probably should have brought more pairs of underwear though! At least I remembered the all important cuddly toy!

Cloudy the Bear keeps an eye on proceedings


How do I feel, you ask? Excellent question! Different to last time. The first time it was all so new, and so perhaps more exciting, at least in an ‘I’m off on a new adventure’ sense. The dangers were there but it felt more out of my hands. This time it feels more like a mission, a quest. I have more understanding of what to expect, yet a goal which is harder to quantify. I’m more invested and feel more responsibility for my performance and safety. I feel focused.

I’m also a bit more nervous than last time. Maybe that will pass, but the last few nights were restless and that is a newer feeling for me.

And so it begins! Wish me luck!

6 comments

  1. Andrew Wilkins · March 15

    Good luck! Stay safe and we’ll see you on the other side!

    On Wed, Mar 15, 2017 at 1:47 PM, Everest Without Oxygen wrote:

    > jamesrbrooman posted: “That’s it! I’ve packed, said my goodbyes and am > about to board the flight to Kathmandu. It seems to have come around so > quickly, and now it begins. Packing was actually OK this time. More stuff > and the same weight as last time, which has me slightly worr” >

    Like

  2. Dom · March 15

    Best of luck and don’t forget to ‘try’ and enjoy it.

    Like

  3. Henrik · March 15

    Good luck brother, you’re gonna kick ass over there:)

    Like

  4. Sarah · March 16

    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

