A New Adventure

Hi everyone, and welcome to my blog: Everest Without Oxygen

I’ve always loved the mountains. My mother is from a small village in the Italian Alps, and I think I must have mountains in my blood. Growing up in a town near London it was hard to discover that desire to be in the high places of the world, but discovered it I have.

Over the years the challenges I’ve taken on have grown. From running a marathon to running across Australia, I’ve developed and become stronger, more resilient. In 2014 I attempted to climb Mt Everest, but it was to be a season cut short by tragedy. It’s been a tough decision to return.

Climbing Mt Everest is hard, despite what you may have read. Really hard. The people I met on the expedition in 2014 were some of the best people I have ever met – and some of the toughest and fittest I have known. It takes that to make it to the summit.

And yet why have I decided to attempt it without supplemental oxygen, a feat which is harder still? That’s a long answer to a short question, so you’ll have to keep reading to find out!

I’m writing this blog for many reasons. I want to give a small window to this unique challenge, an endeavor most people won’t have the opportunity to experience. I want to help others who decide to tackle it ‘without Os’, and leaving a trail of my personal experiences and learning from the process might be a useful resource. Also, if I’m honest, I think that writing about it (and having people follow along) will make getting through the bad moments – and there will be many – a little more manageable.

I begin this journey with humility, and profound respect and gratitude to all those who will help to make this dream a (safe) reality.

I sincerely hope you enjoy following along with the highs and lows of this journey. Thank you for reading!

2 comments

  1. Sarah Ruane · January 6

    Kevin and I are excited to follow along with you. I’m sending prayers for a safe expedition for you, your fellow hikers/climbers, and the crew supporting you all. When does your big adventure start?

    Like

Leave a Reply

